What are the differences between using pub_interface & public functions in contract implementation?

Hi team, I know you guys’re pretty busy at the moment.

But I have some questions on Enigma contracts.

First, What are the differences between using public_interface trait, then implement that trait for the public functions which will interact with UI part vs implement directly public functions right in contract implementation (not using pub_interface)?

Secondly, if I use pub_interface trait, implement it later, is there a way to point to &mut self if I call private functions in the public functions?
for ex.:

if I call Self::_private_func_A(....), the rust compiler will fire an error that I’m missing 1st argument (means theself one).

Please kindly help!
Thanks.

Hi @arookie,

I’m still learning rust, but here’s my take on your questions …

1. the pub_interface as it’s used in the examples is an attribute macro that decorates the ContractInterface trait.
  2. reviewing the pub_interface code, which is part of the Enigma eng_wasm_derive crate, I can see there’s quite a bit going on there in terms of how it enables the secret contract definition and invocation.

I believe if you implemented public functions right in the contract implementation without the pub_interface attribute you wouldn’t be able to call your secret contract functions.

Can you post more of your code? I think you might want to try:

pub fn insert_data_collection(&mut self, dcType: String, ... {
   let owner: String = dc_owner.to_hex();
   self._private_func_A(&self, ...);
}

but I’m making some assumptions that might be incorrect.

1 Like

hi @laura, thank for your fast reply :smiley:

So basically the pub_interface trait provided us the features such as secret contract & UI invocation.
And if I only define the public functions right in a contract & didn’t use pub_interface, I just can call them within in my contract & for console testing only, right?